Sons of Norway

Sons of Norway is a Norwegian drama, but it starts out feeling more like a comedy. A couple of young boys dressed as punks, including safety pins as piercings (ouch!), throw a bottle that hits a man as he is giving a speech. Then it jumps back in time to before the young boys became punks. It’s the late 1970’s, and the parents of Nikolaj (one of the boys) are complete hippies. I loved the father’s argument that since we descended from apes, Christmas dinner should be centered on bananas. He even decorates the tree with bananas!

I don’t want to say too much more, except to emphasize how much the comedy and drama feelings are blended together, which can be challenging. It’s also a film I probably wouldn’t suggest seeing with people like parents, co-workers, a first date, etc. It worked for me, though I have a hard time putting my finger on the reason why. I’ll give it a low  out of .

I looked up the actors who played the parents, and the father was one of the two leads in Elling, one of my all-time favorite Norwegian films, and the Danish mother was a lead in Villa Paranoia, a film that I liked quite a bit several years ago at Cinequest.

Seen on 3/2/2012 at Cinequest.

Leave a Reply

