Frost/Nixon

I’m old enough to remember the Watergate hearings on television. A few years later, I took a Watergate class in high school, so I read books like “All the President’s Men” and “Blind Ambition.” So when I heard about Frost/Nixon, I was very interested.

The film tells the story of David Frost (Michael Sheen), whose career is going through some challenges, deciding to interview Richard Nixon (Frank Langella), and following through the difficulties of making that happen and then actually doing it. It is adapted from a play, which starred the same two actors.

The film is good, and the performances are as well. Langella got an Oscar® nomination, though I think perhaps Sheen had the harder (albeit less flashy) role. But somehow I never really felt all that engaged. The film kept my attention, but didn’t live up to my hopes and expectations. Perhaps I was more interested in the real Watergate story, and less in the story of how the interviews themselves were put together.

Overall I’ll give it 3 stars out of 4 stars.

Seen 2/8/2009.

Leave a Reply

