Oscar® Reactions, 2008

In the big 8 categories, I was 6 out of 8, missing both of the female acting categories. I haven’t seen La Vie En Rose (which won) or I’m Not There (which I predicted but which did not win), so it’s hard to say if the Academy® got these right or not.

In the remaining categories I missed another 6. The biggest surprises to me were Elizabeth: The Golden Age winning for costumes, since films that are poorly reviewed rarely win anything, and Taxi to the Dark Side winning for documentary feature over both No End in Sight and Sicko. I was glad to be wrong on Taxi, since it’s a film that should be more widely seen (IMDb shows it having made under $100,000 through February 17th).

And poor Kevin O’Connell, who still has zero wins out of 20 nominations.

Leave a Reply

