Juno

This was the last of the Oscar® best picture nominees I saw. For any who are keeping track, I didn’t review Michael Clayton here on the blog since I watched it at home on DVD.

I expected Juno to be a very well made comedy with hyper-witty (and possibly annoying) dialog. What I got was all that plus a lot more. As they say on my favorite podcast, it got “a little dusty” in the theater a couple of times—it touched me.

The performances are almost all great. Ellen Page continues to impress, and I wouldn’t have been upset if she had pulled off an upset in the lead actress category last night. But the rest of the primary cast, from unexpected father-to-be Michael Cera, to parents J.K Simmons and Allison Janney, and even would-be adoptive parents Jason Bateman and Jennifer Garner, were all really good. While I found the dialog mostly fun, I’ll give first time screenwriter (and Oscar® winner as of last night) Diablo Cody even more credit for the overall arc of the story. And director Jason Reitman also gets credit for keeping things simple and classic, and for letting his great actors shine.

I’ll give it 4 stars out of 4 stars, and I’ll even name it my favorite of the best picture nominees.

Seen 2/22/2008.

Leave a Reply

