Atonement

If it hadn’t been nominated for a best picture Oscar®, I might not have seen Atonement. Like last year’s Dreamgirls, it had huge buzz before it came out, but mixed reviews when it eventually did. But this was a much better film than I expected.

The main characters are Cecilia Talis (Keira Knightley), her 13-year-old sister Briony (Saoirse Ronan), and Robbie Turner (James McAvoy), the housekeeper’s son. Briony starts the film finishing a play that she intends to stage using the other children staying at the huge country house during World War II. The sound of manual typewriters are featured prominently, and the literate, intelligent sense permeates the film, in a good way.

The early parts of the film are a standard but engaging period piece, but the later parts of the film are what really made it for me. I don’t want to spoil anything, so I’ll stop there. I will say that Ronan deserves her supporting nomination, and I hope she gets more good parts in the future.

I’ll give it 4 stars out of 4 stars.

Seen 2/16/2008.

One Response to “Atonement”

  1. leunhomme Says:

    sounds like an inde film.

Leave a Reply

