There Will Be Oscars!

’tis the day before Oscars®, and I just finished seeing the Best Picture nominees last night.

Disclosure: I had extensive influence from Awards Daily and their big chart.

Best Picture: I could actually see almost any of the nominees winning, and my top three would probably be Juno, Atonement, and There Will Be Blood. But the consensus is overwhelmingly clear that Old Country for Old Men will win, or at least is expected to.

Best director: Ethan and Joel Coen for No Country for Old Men.

Best actor: Daniel Day-Lewis for There Will Be Blood.

Best actress: Julie Christie for Away from Her. I could imagine Ellen Page pulling an upset here, and some are predicting Marion Cotillard, though that seems even less likely to me.

Best supporting actor: Javier Bardem for No Country for Old Men.

Best supporting actress: This is one of the least clear categories, with four of the nominees having a real chance (Saoirse Ronan doesn’t). I’ll go with Cate Blanchett for I’m Not There.

Best original screenplay: Some of the other nominees have a chance, but the consensus is that it will go to Diablo Cody for Juno.

Best adapted screenplay: Joel and Ethan Coen for No Country for Old Men.

Documentary feature: It wouldn’t surprise me to see Sicko win, but I’ll go with No End in Sight.

Foreign language film: I haven’t seen any of them this year, so I’ll rely on the experts and predict that The Counterfeiters will win.

Animated film: Pixar does it again… Ratatouille.

Cinematography: There Will Be Blood, partly because Roger Deakins is nominated for two films and so his votes will be split.

Editing: The Coens could win another award here, but I’ll go with The Bourne Ultimatum.

Art direction: There Will Be Blood.

Costumes: This one seems to be a toss-up, but I’ll predict Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street.

Makeup: La Vie En Rose.

Score: Atonement.

Song: “Falling Slowly” from Once. See the movie and buy the soundtrack. Really.

Sound: Transformers. The 20th time might be the charm for Kevin O’Connell.

Sound editing: Transformers.

Visual Effects: Transformers.

Animated short: For the short categories I’m going with Scott Feinberg’s predictions (from And the Winner Is…) since his record on these obscure categories is unusually good. For this one he’s predicting Peter & the Wolf.

Documentary short: Freeheld.

Live action short: The Mozart of Pickpockets.

Leave a Reply

