Honolulu Marathon 2007

I ran (mostly) my first full marathon on December 9, 2007 in Honolulu. This was written later that day and the following morning, and then polished a bit before being published.

I woke up at 2:45 to catch a shuttle to the start. Shortly after arriving near the starting line, the sky opened up and rain poured down, so I took shelter under a tree with a bunch of others (including a U.S. serviceman from Okinawa). The night before, someone had suggested bringing bags to keep my shoes dry, which worked well.

I made my way to the staging area, discarding the bags in the last available trash can. D’oh! The sky opened up a second time, and all I could do was stand so my body blocked most of it, so my shoes were only wet and not soaked. Note that wet shoes are to be avoided since they make blisters more likely.

Fireworks kicked off the race at 5, though it was after 5:17 before I crossed the starting line. And it was raining again, hard enough that I was wondering how many would drop out. After about a couple miles, though, it stopped, not to restart for another 17.

The early miles were easy, partly because with so many people, you couldn’t run too fast. Even the climb around Diamond Head was pretty mellow. I was a bit behind my expected pace, but I hoped that if I stayed strong I might make it up as the crowd thinned out. But I didn’t and it never really did (thin out, that is). With 27,829 registered and 20,692 finishers, this is a huge race.

I ran mostly based on heart rate. By this point it had climbed to around 160 from maybe 15 beats lower in the first few miles. I had run my 2 half marathons averaging in the 160s, so I was not too concerned, though at the same time I also knew I didn’t have much upside potential to my level of effort. So I started realizing that my time was going to be longer than the expected 5 hours (and much longer than the hoped 4:30), but that speeding up would only make things worse.

And I was getting slower still as I “hit the wall” around 17 miles or so. The “wall” is caused by your body running out of glycogen, leaving only fat to burn, and burning fat just doesn’t generate energy as fast as burning glycogen, so you slow down. I think better runners both store more glycogen and also burn fat more efficiently.

I saw my friends (Moe, Jim, Jeanne, and Ty) somewhere around mile 18. That plus the cooling (but not torrential) rain that came shortly afterward gave me a mild boost. But after I crossed 20 miles I began entertaining thoughts of walking. My right knee, which had bothered me a bit over the previous 1 1/2 weeks, started hurting, though I think now maybe my body was looking for a way to make me stop. My thoughts were too, concluding that if I took it a little easier I would be more likely to try a marathon again in the future.

I pushed to keep running to 22 miles, my previous longest run, and then switched to mostly walking. My friends appeared again, and that got me running again for a bit. But if I tried to keep that up I figured I might not make it, and at best would only be a few minutes faster. So I mostly walked, but ran some when I felt a little stronger.

To be honest, I really wanted to have something left for the final straightaway to the finish. And when I did see the finish arch, I started running. In fact I was mostly passing people at that point until I started getting twinges of cramping in one thigh. But even so I kept running that segment, and ended feeling surprisingly good at the finish line.

Eventually, after navigating the muddy park to collect my finisher’s shirt and medal, I found Connie and her friend Ann (who ran it in 1982). I followed the advice I got from several people, to get my legs into cold water, by wading into the ocean. Later I sat in a cold tub for a while too. Not having done this before, I can’t say for sure that it made a difference, but I was walking more normally than most other finishers we saw later that day.

So how do I feel now, a day later? I’m surprised to be mostly okay and only a little disappointed with such a slow time (5:25:58). Pushing harder just wasn’t going to help and more likely would have hurt. This was the result that was meant to be on this particular day. And I don’t really feel all that beat up by the experience. I think with some training targeted at my reaction to “the wall” (probably just more 20+ mile runs), I’ll at least be able to run the whole thing, after which I can work to improve my speed. Picking a marathon in a cooler climate won’t hurt either.

And finally, I would like to give sincere thanks to everyone who supported and encouraged me during the training and other preparation for this event.

11 Responses to “Honolulu Marathon 2007”

  1. Char Says:

    Wow!!! You should be SOOOOOOOOO proud. Way to go.
    Char

  2. Moe Rubenzahl Says:

    Mike, you rock. You not only did it, you did it in characteristic good humor. Loved seeing you accomplish this.

  3. Tony Christopher Says:

    Mike, Congrats!!! You dit it. In the not too distant past you questioned whether you would make it; you did what it took to make it. I honor you.

    This was the best part of your story for me, “…. I really wanted to have something left for the final straightaway to the finish. And when I did see the finish arch, I started running. In fact I was mostly passing people at that point ….and ended feeling surprisingly good at the finish line.”

    Men will follow you.

    Tony

  4. Udy Gold Says:

    Mike,

    First – congratulations! You made it. You earned it. You worked VERY hard for that moment
    Determination, balance, spirit & body. You set up an example for me and a desire to learn and be more like you. From the start – how you started training yourself, troughout all races and this race itself – how you managed your resources – to your candid honest final report, which made me smile.
    You set up such a great model and standard that is inspiring.

    Udy.

  5. Leo Spelt Says:

    Mike,

    Congratulations on finishing your “maiden” marathon! You have “come a long way” as a long-distance runner, and all of us at Foothill Bootcamp have witnessed your hard work and steady improvements. You are an inspiration to us, short-distance joggers, and we look forward to seeing you again after the break!!

    Leo

  6. Stephanie Constant Says:

    Mike – I am so proud of you. What an accomplishment. Stephanie

  7. Rick Kananen Says:

    Mike,
    Great job!! There are few things worse things than to start a marathon with soggy shoes. You have earned the title “MARATHONER” and have exhibited what the Finnish called SISU (endurance against all odds). I look forward to talking to you in person about this sometime.
    Rick

  8. MC Dwyer Says:

    wow Mike. I am Totally impressed… by your sheer persistance – through rain and pain….(having never even come close to – well to be honest never even having aspired to – such a physical accomplishment myself). I liked how you acknowledged your body and mind were trying to find reasons to stop…but you kept your focus on how you were going to have enough energy to run through the finish. an amazing feat. mc

  9. Dave Lloyd Says:

    What an accomplishment Mike! Marathons encapsulate many of life’s emotions into a short time – hope, despair, frustration, elation, regret, pride. Sounds like you took it all in stride (literally) and came away with a great memory and story to tell. All things considered, your time is very respectable, and the real journey is getting to the finish line so congratulations on that. Way to persevere!

  10. Ron Weston (father) Says:

    Great job Mike! If you feel like you want to do another marathon soon, it was a total success. Next try a smaller race, like the Napa Marthon on the first Sunday of March and I promise it will be much cooler.

  11. Dan Fairfax Says:

    Super job Mike! Well planned training and what a great personal accomplishment.

    Dan

Leave a Reply

